Menu Close

Pickens County Tax Commissioner

Tax Commissioner's Office
Motor Vehicle Registration
Mobile Home Taxes & Registration

Daniel Reeves
Tax Commissioner

Main Office
1266 E. Church Street #112
Jasper, Georgia 30143

Hours
Monday-Friday
8am – 5pm

Contact
706-253-8882 phone
706-253-8898 fax

Payment Support
877-575 7233
email

Edit Template

MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION

Registration Location
1266 East Church Street #112
Jasper, GA 30143

Hours
Monday-Friday
8:00am-5:00pm

Contact
706-253-8882 phone
706-253-8898 fax

Before you can register, you must have a valid Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID. You are required to go to the Georgia Department of Driver Services where they issue driver’s licenses and Georgia ID cards with a Pickens County address.

License Tag renewal and Ad Valorem taxes for your vehicle are paid at the same time. The schedule for payment depends on the size of the vehicle.

Personal Vehicles – cars and light trucks

Yearly payment is due by the Date of Birth of the first owner of the vehicle. Renewal registrations are mailed out approximately 30 days before your birthday. If you do not receive a bill in the mail, please contact the Tax Commissioner’s Office. Failure to renew your tags by your birthday will result in the following penalties: 10% of the Ad Valorem tax or $5.00, whichever is greater, and 25% of the tag fee. It is your responsibility to renew at the appropriate time whether you receive a notice in the mail or not.

Trucks (over 26,001 pounds)

Truck registrations are renewed by the first letter of the last name of the owner or, in the case of trucks owned by businesses, the first letter of the business name, using the Business Registration Scale below. Renewal registrations are mailed out approximately 30 days before they are due. If you do not receive a bill in the mail, please contact the Tax Commissioner’s Office. Failure to renew your tags will result in the following penalties: 10% of the Ad Valorem tax or $5.00, whichever is greater, and 25% of the tag fee. It is your responsibility to renew at the appropriate time whether you receive a notice in the mail or not.

Business Registration Scale

  • January A B
  • February C D
  • March E F
  • April G H
  • May I J
  • June K L
  • July M N
  • August O P
  • September Q R
  • October S T
  • November U V W
  • December X Y Z

Other Motor Vehicle Services

Transferring a Tag You may transfer a tag from one vehicle to another so long as the first name on the old vehicle is the same as the first name on the new vehicle. Your tag must also be current, and not expired. New Residents Once you have established residence, you have 30 days to transfer your registration into Pickens County. If you have a current registration from another county in Georgia, there will be no charge for this service. If you are coming from another state, you must provide:
  • your out of state title
  • your out of state registration
  • valid Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID with a Pickens County address
  • current Georgia insurance
Edit Template

MOBILE HOME TAXES & REGISTRATION

1266 East Church Street, Suite 112
Jasper, GA 30143

706-253-8882 phone
706-253-8898 fax

Mobile Home Decal

For a complete overview of the process, please see the Mobile Home Permit Guidelines.

Taxpayers locating a mobile home in Pickens County must apply to the Tax Commissioner for a decal prior to obtaining a mobile home permit. After receiving approval from the Environmental Health Department and registering the mobile home with the Tax Accessor’s Office, a taxpayer may then apply for the decal. Decals must be renewed annually thereafter between February 1 and April 1. There is a 10% penalty for late payment.

The decal must be prominently attached and displayed on the mobile home

Mobile home owners who qualify for homestead exemption must also obtain a mobile home location permit on or before April 1 from the Tax Commissioner’s Office.

Mobile homes that are temporarily located in the county and are owned by a business that is not located in the county should notify the Board of Tax Assessors of their presence to avoid being cited for failure to apply for the location permit.

Mobile Home Returns

Every mobile home owned in Georgia on January 1 is subject to property taxation. Owners of mobile homes that are located in the county on January 1 must return the mobile home for taxation to the Tax Assessor on or before April 1 of each year at the same time they apply for the location permit. The qualifications for exemptions is the same as for other property.

Edit Template
Skip to content