Pickens County Planning & Development
Businesses operating in unincorporated Pickens County are required to obtain and display a current Business License [see Pickens County Ordinances: Chapter 18]. The process for getting a Business License is as follows:
- Go to the Tax Assessor’s Office to register your business.
You will receive a report that is required for your Business License Application.
Tax Assessor Office
1266 E Church Street
Jasper, GA 30143-1622
- Fill out the Business License Application Form.
This can be picked up at the Planning and Development Office or Download It Here. If you need to renew your license you may Download It Here. If your business requires State of Georgia Licensure, a copy of your Georgia License will be required with your application (see O.C.G.A. Title 43 and Secretary of State: Points of Contact).
- Fire Safety Inspection
As part of our ongoing effort to ensure a safe and secure environment in which to work and shop, Pickens County Fire Rescue requires that all new businesses, located within Pickens County, to have a “Fire Safety” inspection completed prior to the issuance of a business license. To schedule a “Fire Safety” Inspection please Click Here.
√ State Licenses (if required)
√ Tax Assessor’s Report
√ Completed Pickens County Business License Application
√ $100.00 Licensing Fee (see below) to:
Office of Planning and Development
1266 E Church Street
Jasper, GA 30143-1622
The Business Licenses run from July 1 through June 30. Your renewal will come due on July 1. The renewal fee is $100.00 per year. Our office sends a courtesy reminder. However, you are responsible for paying your license fee by the due date. We cannot guarantee receipt of a reminder in the mail.
Building Permits, Fees, Affidavits
Residential, Commercial, and Miscellaneous
- Residential Building Guidelines
- Residential Building Permit – New Application
- Residential Building Permit – Renewal Application
- Commercial Building Guidelines
- Commercial Building Permit – New Application
- Commercial Building Permit – Renewal Application
Other Permits & Applications
- Access Encroachment – Guidelines
- Access Encroachment – Permit Application
- Access Encroachment Modification – Permit Application
- Signs – Permit & Ordinances Guidelines
- Signs Commercial – Permit Application
- Signs Private Road – Permit Application
Inspection Process: Residential
Step 1: Posting the Building Permit
The property will not be inspected if it does not have a clearly posted building permit card.
- State law requires that the permit shall always be clearly visible on-site during construction. No permit card – no inspection.
- The permit shall be kept in good condition, protected from the weather, and replaced promptly by the builder if damaged.
- The permit must be displayed no higher than 6 (six) feet from the ground.
Step 2: Temporary Electric Power Pole
Once you have a building permit on file, you must contact their power provider who will do the inspection before releasing temporary power.
Step 3: The Foundation Inspections
- Footing Inspection – Performed before concrete is poured.
- Masonry & Poured Wall Inspection – Any wall higher than 4’ from the bottom of the footing to the top of the wall.
- Foundation Water Proofing & Drainage – Performed before backfill. Any wall, including walls less than 5’ high, must have a waterproof inspection before any backfill is placed against the wall.
- Plumbing In-Slab – 4” pipe must exit slab. Plumbing must have a water test or air test. Can seal pipe for the test at clean out between the house & septic tank after the test is approved. The connection from the clean out to the tank can be done. Can check this on slab inspections.
- Slab – Basement and carports. Performed before concrete is poured.
Step 4: Sheathing and Housewrap
- Sheathing – Inspect nail pattern and apply air barrier to the attic side of knee-walls.
- Housewrap – Tape all laps, turn into openings.
Step 5: Rough Inspection
Done after roofing, framing, windows, and doors installed, fire blocking, bracing in place, and all rough-in electrical, mechanical, and plumbing are complete. All electrical, mechanical, and plumbing affidavits (and all applicable documentation) BEFORE the rough inspection can be called in.
Step 6: Insulation/Energy Code
Step 7: Temporary to Permanent Power
Once power is installed on a permanent structure (meterbase). Final approval from Environmental Health must be on file in the Planning and Development office before the power company will turn on permanent power.
Step 8: The Final Inspection
This inspection is performed only after the structure is complete and ready for occupancy. A Certificate of Occupancy (C.O.) will not be issued until all required documents are on file and the inspector has passed the final inspection. C.O.’s will only be released to the homeowner or the contractor listed on the building permit.
Please secure all animals at the inspection site. An adult MUST be present when it is necessary for the inspector to gain access to occupied properties.
Failure to call in all necessary inspections can result in fines and/or stop work orders.
- Pickens County Ordinances – Chapter 16 for the Ordinance covering enforcement
- Pickens County Ordinances – Chapter 16 for the Ordinance inspections
- Building Permit Fees for the fee schedule for building permits and inspections
- Certificate of Occupancy Fees for the fee schedule for Certificate of Occupancy
The Pickens County Clerk shall administer and enforce the provisions of this article – Resolution Adopting Pickens County Hotel/Motel Occupancy Tax.
Every operator renting guest rooms in the county shall keep such records, receipts, invoices and other pertinent papers in such form as the supervisor may require.
There shall be paid a tax of six percent of the rent for every occupancy of a guest room in a hotel in the county, The tax imposed by this article shall be paid upon any occupancy on and after January l, 1998.
The tax imposed by this article shall become due and payable from the occupant at the time of occupancy of any hotel in this county. All amounts of such taxes collected by an operator are due and payable to the County Clerk between the first and 20th day of the calendar month next following the calendar month or fiscal period for which the return is being filed.